Is religion fading in todays youth?

9 05 2007

Yesterday a friend of mine happened to ask me an interesting question over gtalk. She wanted to know my opinion on whether today youth have time for religion? I had just watched Babri Masjid demolition documentry the night before and was in a kind of confused state as to what she meant. You know the question came at the most unexpected time that too during a casual chat. Personally I feel that todays youth does have time for worship, but its just that it is not in their highest priority list. People pray only when they are in trouble, not all, but most of them <no offence>. Take the case of students, you could see them running to places of worship on the day of exams, sad to say I used to do the same some years ago. 

After that she asked me whether I believe in god. Well, for this question I always have a stable answer. I dont believe in god, but I do believe that a superpower exists. I dont give it any shape or size, but I know it exists. From the time you are born, you are brought up with the idea that god exists and he will help you at the time of distress. Gradually there is a mental phenomenon associated with the feeling that god would help during time of distress. Its the same feeling that gives us strength and support when we pray. God created men and men created religion. In a way China is best where religion is banned… there is no question of communal violence at all.

Sometimes when bad things happen people tells me that its fate, and when good things happen… its luck :). I always tell them that I dont believe in fate. Just because I dont like the idea that I am not in control of my life. If eveything is predefined as to what is going to happen next, then whats the meaning of life? I dont know, but I chose the way I want to live, its not been written anywhere. I belive its us that write our future… think good and you will attract good towards you. Think bad and you will suffer. Its all the power of belief.

Have you read the book, The Magic Of Thinking Big by  David Schwartz? If not do read it. Its one of the best books I have ever read. It has changed my life by shaping me into a better person, hope it does the same to you too. oh before I stop let me tell a fact. My friend happens to be doing internship at Deccan Chronicle and she said my opinions might come up in one of the opinions colums of Deccan. 😀

Alright, thats for today. Between do let me know about what you think about religion!!!

Actions

Information

One response

15 05 2007
Bala

Nope..Actually not, They aren… Still a majority of Today’s Youth believe in this. Only very few are getting carried away.

Leave a Reply

